clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Twin Cities Finalists for the James Beard Awards

The highest culinary honor there is has recognized several local names.

Katie Cannon

Spoon and Stable, the North Loop's restaurant phenomenon by Gavin Kaysen was nominated for Best New Restaurant. The restaurant was also recognized for Outstanding Restaurant Design for Shea Inc.'s reimagining of the 1906 stable space.

Best Chef Midwest was stacked with some familiar names including chef and owner of St. Paul's Heartland Restaurant and Farm Direct Market, Lenny Russo. The Salty Tart herself, Michelle Gayer and The Bachelor Farmer's Paul Berglund.

Media awards included past Beard winner Andrew Zimmern for Bizarre Foods. Last year's winner Perennial Plate from Daniel Klein and Mirra Fine was nominated again. (The duo are now working on the new version of Victory Garden on PBS.) WCCO's Jason DeRusha was nominated for his DeRusha Eats segments.

The James Beard Awards ceremony will take place Monday May 4 in Chicago. Congratulations to all of the nominees.