clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The 2020 James Beard Award Semifinalists Include Several Twin Cities Chefs

The culinary world’s highest honors announced the long list today

A close up of the James Beard Award.
Semifinalists included a proud showing of Twin Cities chefs
Eater file photo/James Beard Foundation

This morning the James Beard semifinalists were announced, and there was plenty of love sent in Minnesota’s direction. The James Beard Awards are considered by most in the hospitality industry to be the pinnacle of career achievement. Past winners include Ann Kim, Gavin Kaysen, Tim McKee, Alex Roberts, and Isaac Becker.

Best New Restaurant


Outstanding Bar Program


Outstanding Chef

Gavin Kaysen, Spoon & Stable

Outstanding Pastry Chef

Diane Moua, Spoon & Stable

Outstanding Restaurant

Restaurant Alma

Rising Star Chef

Rikki Giambruno, Hyacinth

Best Chef Midwest

Steven Brown, Tilia

Daniel del Prado, Martina

Jamie Malone, Grand Cafe

Christina Nguyen, Hai Hai

Hai Truong, Ngon Bistro

Disclosure: Some Vox Media staff members are part of the voting body for the James Beard Awards.

Ngon Vietnamese Bistro

799 University Avenue West, , MN 55104 (651) 222-3301 Visit Website


212 North 2nd Street, , MN 55401 (612) 404-1123 Visit Website

Grand Cafe

3804 Grand Avenue South, , MN 55409 (612) 822-8260 Visit Website


5400 Penn Avenue South, , MN 55419 (612) 886-1606 Visit Website


790 Grand Avenue, , MN 55105 (651) 478-1822 Visit Website

Hai Hai

2121 University Avenue Northeast, , MN 55418 (612) 223-8640 Visit Website

Restaurant Alma

528 University Avenue Southeast, , MN 55414 (612) 379-4909 Visit Website

Spoon and Stable

211 North 1st Street, , MN 55401 (612) 224-9850 Visit Website


2726 West 43rd Street, , MN 55410 (612) 354-2806 Visit Website