clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

James Beard Awards Announces Finalists for 2020, Including These Twin Cities Chefs

A close up of the James Beard Award.
It’s been a weird year, but the awards will carry on in some form
Eater file photo/James Beard Foundation

After a delay thanks to the coronavirus pandemic disruption, today the James Beard Foundation announced its 2020 finalists. Today, the Foundation revealed that the Restaurant and Chef Awards Gala will take place in late September, and the Media Awards will take place in late May.

The nominees include several Twin Cities based chefs. Past chef winners include Ann Kim, Gavin Kaysen, Tim McKee, Alex Roberts and Isaac Becker.

Here is the full list of all of the nominees.

The restaurants and chefs recognized are:

Best New Restaurant


Outstanding Pastry Chef

Diane Yang, Spoon and Stable

Best Chef Midwest

Steven Brown, Tilia

Jamie Malone, Grand Cafe

Christina Nguyen, Hai Hai


212 North 2nd Street, , MN 55401 (612) 404-1123 Visit Website

Grand Cafe

3804 Grand Avenue South, , MN 55409 (612) 822-8260 Visit Website

Hai Hai

2121 University Ave NE, Minneapolis, MN 55418 Visit Website

Hai Hai

2121 University Avenue Northeast, , MN 55418 (612) 223-8640 Visit Website

Spoon and Stable

211 North 1st Street, , MN 55401 (612) 224-9850 Visit Website


2726 West 43rd Street, , MN 55410 (612) 354-2806 Visit Website